Locust Fudge

In 1991 Schneider (back then singer, songwriter and guitarist with HIP YOUNG THINGS) and Krite (then singer, songwriter and guitarist with the SPEED NIGGS) founded the duo LOCUST FUDGE and started playing acoustic versions of their original bands' semi-hits to ignorant audiences in the streets of their hometowns.



There are no upcoming events.


For booking requests send an email to:



What originally was a pretext to hang out together soon draw the attention of Reinhard Holstein, CEO of Glitterhouse Records, the European business arm for Seattle’s Sub Pop label, home to the likes of Nirvana, Mudhoney and others who were just about to define a new hype soon to be called Grunge. Holstein encouraged LOCUST FUDGE to record an album for his label. Their acoustic guitar-driven debut album FLUSH was released in 1993, receiving widespread media coverage all over Europe. After touring as a duo for quite a while, Schneider and Krite recorded their ground-breaking follow-up ROYAL FLUSH in 1994, a milestone of lofi-glam-folk to this very day. The album’s delicate arrangements demanded a somewhat bigger live sound, and thus the 5-piece LOCUST FUDGE BAND was formed to go on the road with the new material. After extensive touring throughout Europe LOCUST FUDGE released the EP 'Business Express' in 1996. Besides working with LOCUST FUDGE, Schneider and Krite had released numerous albums and toured extensively with their bands Hip Young Things and Sharon Stoned and different side projects.

By the end of the 1990s, Schneider and Krite moved to Berlin. Alongside Japanese performance artist Hanayo, they reunite in the noise-pop outfit PAINCAKE and performed in unusual surroundings like the Urbanisation Congress Cities on the Move 6 in Bangkok 1999, the opening of the Japanese Pavilion at the Venice Biennale of Architecture 2001, an exhibition opening at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris, and many others. After the band's demise in 2002, Schneider and Krite went separate ways for a while.

In 2018 they released their album OSCILLATION featuring 10 new songs and numerous guest appearances by the likes of J Mascis, Chris Brokaw, Zappi W Diermaier, Julia Wilton, Wolfgang Seidel, Lucio Capece, Ulrich Krieger, Gwendolin Tägert, Lars Rudolph, Günter Schickert and many others.


From the Blog